Saturday 4th October, Holywell Music Room

Evening Concert 7.45pm

Cage 4’33”

Bach ‘Cello suite no 1

Bruckner Stille Betrachtung

Schnittke Silent Night

Schubert String quintet in C


After the labour of Creation, a final rest and a blessing. Bach dances alone, joyfully; Bruckner contemplates a silent view on an autumn evening. Cage famously contemplates the impossibility of silence, Schnittke mocks it, and Schubert sees beyond the beauty or rawness of created things to give us a glimpse of the infinite.